Skip to content

My Festool Story

February 10, 2012

Hello Woodworking Friends,

This is my Festool story of how I got hooked on these amazing tools. They have changed the way I work from day to day. In addition they have made my job that I love so much, that much more enjoyable!

A few years back I had seen and heard of a brand of tools by the name of Festool. I had seen them displayed at my local Woodcraft and would always check them out from afar, as they were in their own little section, far from the other tools. I would never spend that much time looking at them, always thinking, how much better could they be? Simply put they were out of my price range, and I was getting by with what I had. Then one day at my local Woodcraft I had seen a few of the Festool dust extractors for sale with a pretty good discount (demo units). The store owner Matthew had noticed me looking at one, as I was in need of a shop vacuum/dust extractor for my home shop. He insisted it was a great machine and that these tools very rarely are had at any sort of discount. At the time I didn’t have the money and was really considering purchasing the extractor. After doing some heavy investigating on the Internet when I got home, I decided I “needed” to have this machine (all you woodworkers know what I mean). A few days later I had finished a small job I was working on and with that money I decided to go back and get my first Festool. As I walked through the front door of Woodcraft I was welcomed by Matthew and a few other employees, after a quick hello I made a bee line for the extractor. Phew, it was still there! I smiled and continued walking around the store as I had a few more items to get. Matthew had walked up and said to me ” I saw you looking at the ct 22 over there” I had told him I had done some research on it, and agreed it was an awesome piece of equipment. He responded with “if you want it I will give you an extra 5% off the already marked down price”. I smiled from ear to ear, headed right to the cash register and the rest is history………oh, and yes I forgot to get the other items I needed that day!

That day had changed my outlook on woodworking forever! Immediately I brought home the dust extractor and hooked it up to any tool I could find. An old porter cable random orbit sander had fit the bill. I grabbed a piece of walnut and with the extractor hooked up I fired up the sander and just started sanding and sanding. After about 3 minutes of continuos sanding I flipped the power off and looked at the board. The walnut board looked great! Even with my beat up old PC sander. No dust on the board, and just a small trace left on the paper. Then when I had set the piece of walnut back down into the scrap pile I looked up and was in shock! Normally when I did this type of sanding my entire shop was covered in a cloud of fine dust particles from one end to another. The Festool system was different!

Until this day I have never had to replace any of my Festool products. Their customer service and warranties are second to none. They produce the highest quality tools available and the dust collection is absolutely amazing. I will forever support a company that stands for these beliefs and backs them up. If you ever have a chance to try any of these tools out at your local woodworking store, I urge you to give them a shot. You will pay more for Festool’s than for regular tools but precision, quality, and speed at which you produce will greatly improve. And if nothing else the dust extraction will keep you from breathing most of the fine dust particles that are extremely bad for our health. And you can’t put a price on that!

Thanks for reading, and please feel free to comment or email with any questions.

Have fun and be safe,

Jim

 

From → festool, woodworking

One Comment
  1. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it ;) I am going to come back once again since
    I book marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

